News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/4/2021 2:57:06 PM to 1/15/2021 5:05:03 PM.

News Flash

Home - News

Posted on: January 4, 2021

[ARCHIVED] County Commission Leadership Change and Committee Appointments


The Board of Commissioners met as a new Board on January 4, 2021. District Court Judge Leon Aberasturi swore in Commissioners Dave Hockaday of Smith Valley, Wes Henderson of Dayton, Ken Gray of Dayton (second term) and Rob Jacobson of Fernley. The Board elected Commissioner Vida Keller as Chairperson for a second term and Commissioner Ken Gray as Vice Chairperson. The Board then made the following appointments:

  • Comstock Historic District - Commissioner Gray
  • Debt Management Commission - Commissioner Jacobson
  • Dayton Valley Conservation District - Commissioner Gray
  • Mason Valley/Smith Valley Conservation District
  • Nevada Public Agency Insurance Pool - Comptroller Josh Foli
  • Public Agency Compensation Trust - Comptroller Josh Foli
  • Nevada Association of Counties Board of Directors - Commissioner Vida Keller
  • Nevada Association of Counties Legislative Committee - Commissioner Vida Keller and Commissioner Wes Henderson
  • Nevada Association of Counties Public Lands Committee - Commissioner Ken Gray and Commissioner Wes Henderson
  • Local Emergency Planning Committee - Commissioner Dave Hockaday
  • Northern Nevada Development Authority - County Manager Jeff Page and Commissioner Vida Keller
  • Nevada WORKS - Commissioner Vida Keller
  • Walker River Irrigation District - Commissioner Dave Hockaday
  • Carson Water Sub conservancy District - Commissioner Ken Gray
  • Lyon County Room Tax Board - Commissioner Ken Gray
  • Jail Inspection - Commissioner Dave Hockaday
  • Truckee Canal Safety Committee - Commissioner Rob Jacobson and Commissioner Vida Keller
  • Lyon County Regional Transportation Commission - Commissioner Wes Henderson
  • Quad County Legislative Coalition - Commissioner Vida Keller and Commissioner Ken Gray
  • Carson Area Metropolitan Planning Organization - Commissioner Wes Henderson

The Lyon County Board of Commissioners has not had three brand new commissioners in more than a decade. County Manager provided the Board with a brief orientation of County operations and has conducted tours of the County with 2 of the 3 new Commissioners prior to todays meeting. Contact information for the Commissioners is

District I:          Wes Henderson,, 775-461-6296                                 

District II:         Vida Keller,, 775-461-6275

District III:        Ken Gray,, 775-461-6223

District IV:        Robert Jacobson,, 775-461-6298

District V:         Dave Hockaday,, 775-461-6302 

Facebook Twitter Email