| Aircraft Taxation
According to Nevada Revised Statutes, all property not defined or taxed as “real estate” or “real property” is considered to be “personal property”. Taxable personal property includes aircraft, manufactured homes and all property used in conjunction with a business. The taxation of personal property has been in effect since Nevada became a state in 1864. Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 360-361, provide for the taxation of all property, unless specifically exempted by law. Since aircraft are not exempted, they are taxable.
All individuals or companies having aircraft in Lyon County must file an annual declaration. The declaration is normally filed during the month of July each year. If the declaration is received at any other time, it is due within 15 days of receipt. Aircraft owners bringing aircraft into Lyon County for the first time should contact the Assessor's office to obtain an Aircraft Appraisal Declaration. Please remember, it is the responsibility of the aircraft owner to inform the Assessor of any changes in ownership, location or mailing address.
The completed declaration provides the information needed to determine the taxable value of the aircraft. The year of purchase is needed so that the value of the aircraft can be reduced by any applicable depreciation. The purchase price should be reported without sales tax. The purchase price does include any additions or upgrades to the plane such as extra fuel tanks, special or additional avionics etc. If the aircraft is registered and taxed outside of Lyon County, please check the applicable box and provide a copy of the current registration and tax receipt. Because aircraft are mobile, a declaration and the current registration and tax receipt must be filed each year.
Though the declaration may be completed and returned to the Assessor in July, the personal property tax billing may be calculated and sent any time between the time it is received by the assessor and the following April 30. The returned declaration will be processed by the appraisal staff and billed accordingly. The appraisal staff may request additional information in order to verify the information on the completed declaration. The tax billing becomes delinquent and subject to a penalty 30 days after the first billing date.
Determining Tax Amounts
In Nevada, property taxes are based on “assessed value”. In the case of aircraft personal property taxes, a “taxable value” is arrived at by reducing the original purchase price or acquisition cost by depreciation factors. Assessed value is computed by multiplying the taxable value by 35%, rounded to the nearest $10.
Example: (2005/2006 Fiscal Year)
| Aircraft purchased 1 year ago at a cost of $10,000
Taxable value after depreciation is 10,000 x .90
Assessed value for the aircraft is 9,000 x .35
| Tax on the aircraft would be 3,150 x .029299%
*The tax rate varies by district. The 2005/2006 rate in Tax District 1.0, for example, was $3.5957 per hundred.